North Rim of the Black Canyon of the Gunnison

Yesterday in my post, Looking at the World Through the Lens of a Camera, I mentioned a trip I took to the North Rim of the Black Canyon of the Gunnison. The south rim is the better known part of the canyon, but the north rim seems wilder to me. Here are a few photos of the canyon.

While I stood taking the previous photo, this is what lay behind me:

5 Responses to “North Rim of the Black Canyon of the Gunnison”

  1. shirleyannhoward Says:

    The beauty of nature knows no greater competition.

  2. Mary Friedel-Hunt Says:

    Memories….those might be the San Juans in the background….not sure which direction you were facing. What a lovely spot….filled with memories. We even took my 92 year old mom there once…after she flew out from Chicago alone.

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      The San Juans were to the South. We were very familiar with them when we lived in Montrose. The mountains in the fourth photo are the West Elk Mountains, east of the canyon.

  3. Alice Johnston Says:

    This canyon holds so many memories for myself and family, that not a lot of people share. My Father, three brothers, and Uncle have all built the security/safety fences all around that canyon. My father built the one at the visitor center, and my uncle and Brothers did various ones all over clear through to the North rim. I am 30 now and remember like yesterday being very little and walking out to the edge to look down. It was dizzying and couldnt standing right on the edge but had to get down on hands and knees to look clean over, fingers gripping the edge. How I havent lost family from falling over I will never know as they dug post holes and did rick work on the edge with no problems. We still live in the area, but my husband never has been to the North rim before, and in conversation I had to look it up to find some pictures for him. Amazing we live at the bottom of this canyon and in 12 years havent ventured up together to see everything. We usually end up on Transfer, and Rhuebadoh on the platue. Planning on knocking it off our list this summer so my kids can see what their grandpa and Uncles have done.

    • Pat Bertram Says:

      Alice, how interesting! Long before those safety fences were built, I was a passenger in a car that narrowly missed driving off the edge. I can still remember looking out the window and all I could see was the river far below.


I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,550 other followers

